A A A share

Financial Institutions

In partnership with



GIIF is funded by the European Union, Japan and the Netherlands.


The EU is the primary donor partner to the GIIF Trust Fund with a focus on the African, Caribbean and Pacific Group of States (ACP). The governments of Japan and the Netherlands are providing additional support to different regions/countries where IFC operates.

Global Index Insurance Facility




FAQ Index Insurance


GIIF Projects by Region


Technical Partners

GIIF Donor Partners

European Union (Euro 24.5 million)

The European Union is made up of 27 Member States who have decided to gradually link together their know-how, resources and destinies. Together, during a period of enlargement of 50 years, they have built a zone of stability, democracy and sustainable development whilst maintaining cultural diversity, tolerance and individual freedoms. The European Union is committed to sharing its achievements and its values with countries and peoples beyond its borders.


Sustainable agriculture and food security are at the top of the EU, G8 and G20 agendas. With over 70% of the world’s poor living in rural areas, support to agriculture and rural development is fundamental for reducing poverty and boosting growth. Moreover, up to 90% of the population in many developing countries depend on agriculture and farming for their living, as these provide income, employment and food, as well as raw materials for industry and exports.


EuropeAid Development and Cooperation invests approximately Euro 1 Billion annually in sustainable agriculture and  food security, specifically investing in building resilience and capacity development.







Japan ($4 million)

Japan's Ministry of Finance is one of the key donors to GIIF. The MOF is a long-term strategic partner to IFC Advisory Services and supports IFC's efforts to promote effective and sustainable markets for the agricultural, microfinance and housing sectors.





Netherlands ($25.5 million)


The Netherlands' Ministry of Foreign Affairs is the channel through which the Dutch Government communicates with foreign governments and international organizations. The Dutch are IFC's second largest donor and the first donor to support GIIF. This key partner for IFC is focused on the eradication of extreme poverty and support for sustainable and inclusive growth globally.








The ACP Group

The African, Caribbean and Pacific Group of States (ACP) is an organization created by the Georgetown Agreement in 1975. It is composed of 79 African, Caribbean and Pacific states, with all of them, save Cuba, signatories to the Cotonou Agreement, also known as the "ACP-EC Partnership Agreement" which binds them to the European Union. There are 48 countries from Sub-Saharan Africa, 16 from the Caribbean and 15 from the Pacific.



The ACP Group´s main objectives are:

  • sustainable development of its Member-States and their gradual integration into the global economy, which entails making poverty reduction a matter of priority and establishing a new, fairer, and more equitable world order;
  • coordination of the activities of the ACP Group in the framework of the implementation of ACP-EC Partnership Agreements;
  • consolidation of unity and solidarity among ACP States, as well as understanding among their peoples; and
  • establishment and consolidation of peace and stability in a free and democratic society.


List of ACP Countries

Angola - Antigua and Barbuda - Belize - Cape Verde - Comoros - Bahamas - Barbados - Benin - Botswana - Burkina Faso - Burundi - Cameroon - Central African Republic - Chad - Congo (Brazzaville) - Congo (Kinshasa) - Cook Islands - Cte d'Ivoire - Cuba - Djibouti - Dominica - Dominican Republic - Eritrea - Ethiopia - Fiji - Gabon - Gambia - Ghana - Grenada - Republic of Guinea - Guinea-Bissau - Equatorial Guinea - Guyana - Haiti - Jamaica - Kenya - Kiribati - Lesotho - Liberia - Madagascar - Malawi - Mali - Marshall Islands - Mauritania - Mauritius - Micronesia - Mozambique - Namibia - Nauru - Niger - Nigeria - Niue - Palau - Papua New Guinea - Rwanda - St. Kitts and Nevis - St. Lucia - St. Vincent and the Grenadines - Solomon Islands - Samoa - Sao Tome and Principe - Senegal - Seychelles - Sierra Leone - Somalia - South Africa - Sudan - Suriname - Swaziland - Tanzania - Timor Leste - Togo - Tonga - Trinidad and Tobago - Tuvalu - Uganda - Vanuatu - Zambia - Zimbabwe


Stay Connected