Creating Opportunity Where It's Needed Most
A A A share

Western Europe

Western Europe > Overview 


IFC's Western Europe operations cover relations with 21 countries including Austria, Belgium, Cyprus, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Iceland, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Luxembourg, Malta, the Netherlands, Norway, Portugal, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, and the United Kingdom, as well as the European Union. Western Europe is an important region for IFC with Western European countries holding 31.88% of IFC capital, representing the largest IFC member if taken as a whole. Given its mandate as part of the World Bank Group, IFC does not invest in Western Europe, but rather supports the investment projects of Western European sponsors in emerging markets. 

IFC Western Europe has two core mandates:

  1. Coordination and consensus building with governments and European International Financial Institutions (IFIs) and Development Finance Institutions (DFIs) on IFC's corporate strategy, high profile investments, and a wide range of issues of particular interest to our shareholders such as financial market stability, agribusiness, climate finance, energy efficiency, and environmental protection.
  2. Business development and relationship management with companies, banks, and investors based in Western Europe and Israel investing in emerging markets. Partnership/network building with business associations, governments, IFIs, legislative bodies, and NGOs. The Western Europe offices are also actively involved in IFC's special initiatives such as the Joint IFI Initiative for Central and Eastern Europe, Joint IFI Action Plan for Africa, and the Debt and Asset Recovery Program (DARP).

Click here for the IFC Organizational Chart.





Stay Connected